OET - Occupational English Test

Test Venue

OET is held at - DynaSpeak, Level 11, 238 Queen Street, Auckland 1010

OET Test Dates

Note: Applications close at 12pm midday on the closing date in your local time zone. Results are released by 5pm Australian time (6-8am UK time depending on the time of year).

Book between

Thursday, 02 February 2023 - 12pm Monday, 15 May 2023

Result published

Tuesday, 27 June 2023

Professions available

Nursing, Medicine, Dentistry, Pharmacy, Physiotherapy, Radiography

Book between

Thursday, 02 February 2023 - 12pm Wednesday, 31 May 2023

Result published

Tuesday, 11 July 2023

Professions available

Nursing, Medicine

Book between

Thursday, 02 February 2023 - 12pm Wednesday, 14 June 2023

Result published

Tuesday, 25 July 2023

Professions available

Nursing, Medicine, Dentistry, Pharmacy, Physiotherapy, Radiography

Book between

Thursday, 02 February 2023 - 12pm Wednesday, 28 June 2023

Result published

Tuesday, 08 August 2023

Professions available

Nursing, Medicine

Book between

Monday, 13 February 2023 - 12pm Wednesday, 12 July 2023

Result published

Tuesday, 22 August 2023

Professions available

Nursing, Medicine, Dentistry, Dietetics, Occupational Therapy, Optometry, Pharmacy, Physiotherapy, Podiatry, Radiography, Speech Pathology, Veterinary Science

Book between

Monday, 13 February 2023 - 12pm Wednesday, 26 July 2023

Result published

Tuesday, 05 September 2023

Professions available

Nursing, Medicine

Book between

Monday, 13 February 2023 - 12pm Wednesday, 09 August 2023

Result published

Tuesday, 19 September 2023

Professions available

Nursing, Medicine, Dentistry, Pharmacy, Physiotherapy, Radiography

Book between

Monday, 13 February 2023 - 12pm Monday, 21 August 2023

Result published

Tuesday, 03 October 2023

Professions available

Nursing, Medicine

Book between

Monday, 13 February 2023 - 12pm Wednesday, 06 September 2023

Result published

Tuesday, 17 October 2023

Professions available

Nursing, Medicine, Dentistry, Dietetics, Occupational Therapy, Optometry, Pharmacy, Physiotherapy, Podiatry, Radiography, Speech Pathology, Veterinary Science

Book between

Monday, 13 February 2023 - 12pm Wednesday, 20 September 2023

Result published

Tuesday, 31 October 2023

Professions available

Nursing, Medicine

Book between

Monday, 13 February 2023 - 12pm Wednesday, 04 October 2023

Result published

Tuesday, 14 November 2023

Professions available

Nursing, Medicine, Dentistry, Pharmacy, Physiotherapy, Radiography

Book between

Monday, 13 February 2023 - 12pm Wednesday, 18 October 2023

Result published

Tuesday, 28 November 2023

Professions available

Nursing, Medicine

Book between

Monday, 13 February 2023 - 12pm Tuesday, 07 November 2023

Result published

Tuesday, 09 January 2024

Professions available

Nursing, Medicine, Dentistry, Dietetics, Occupational Therapy, Optometry, Pharmacy, Physiotherapy, Podiatry, Radiography, Speech Pathology, Veterinary Science

Book between

Monday, 13 February 2023 - 12pm Wednesday, 22 November 2023

Result published

Tuesday, 16 January 2024

Professions available

Nursing, Medicine

About OET

OET is an international English language test that assesses the language proficiency of healthcare professionals seeking to register and practice in an English-speaking environment.

What Does OET Assess

OET provides a valid and reliable assessment of all four language skills – listening, reading, writing and speaking – with an emphasis on communication in healthcare professional settings. For more information, go to OET's Formal Website.

Who is OET for

OET tests health practitioners from the following 12 professions:
Dentistry
Dietetics
Medicine
Nursing
Occupational Therapy
Optometry
Pharmacy
Physiotherapy
Podiatry
Radiography
Speech Pathology
Veterinary Science

What’s in the Test

The test is divided into four sub-tests:
Listening
Reading
Writing
Speaking

For detailed information about the test, go to OET's Test Overview Page.

Who Uses OET as Proof of English Proficiency

OET is used as proof of English proficiency by:

  • Health regulators in the UK, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, Namibia, Dubai, and Singapore accept OET for registration in 12 healthcare professions.
  • Australian Department of Immigration and Immigration New Zealand accept OET for all visa categories, which may require an English test, including Skilled Migrant Category.
  • Leading health educators in Australia and New Zealand accept OET for admission to healthcare courses.

For an up to date list of organizations, go to OET's Website.

How to Prepare for OET

What preparation support does OET provide to candidates?

OET’s Preparation Portal contains a range of preparation materials, many of which are free of charge. To see all the available materials, go to OET Preparation Portal.

When is OET Available

OET is available monthly. For up-to-date details on test dates, go to Book a Test Page.

How to apply for OET

You can apply and pay for the test online three or more weeks before your selected test date at OET's Website.

How are Results Received

Results are published online 16 days after the test and candidates are provided with login details to access a secure system to view their results, which are also sent by post. For more details, go to OET's After the Test Page.

For information about OET, email us at oet@dynaspeak.ac.nz